Pulau Banyak archipelago

The Banyak Islands is an archipelago of inhabited 71 islands with area an 319 square km, 27 196 ha (25km radius) between Simeulue and Nias (29 km) off the western coast of Sumatra in the Indian Ocean, part of Indonesia’s Aceh Province divided into two districts: Kecamatan Pulau Banyak (villages: Balai, Teluk Nibung, Baguk) and Kecamatan Pulau Banyak Barat (villages: Asantola, Haloban, Ujung Sialit, Suka Makmur). The islands vary in their land cover, most are sandy with limited vegetation, while the larger islands have deep rainforests. Population  : 6 570 persons. Most of the dozens of small islands are uninhabited.